PRIORITY • COST ACTION CA20101

Plastics Monitoring Detection Remediation Recovery

PRIORITY is a science and technology research network focused on developing, implementing, and consolidating strategies to tackle the global challenges of micro- and nanoplastics in the environment.

About

Introduction
to the Action

PRIORITY stands for ‘Plastics monitoRIng detectiOn RemedIaTion recoverY’

Description

Enhance the technical standards for sampling and analysis of micro- and nanoplastics in the environment.

Objectives

Create and coordinate a team of scientists and experts to address the challenges in the field of environmental nano- and microplastic pollution.

Background

The production, demand and disposal of plastics has grown exponentially during the last century, leading to a production of 359 million tons in 2018.

Structure

Meet our
Working Groups

PRIORITY is organised in seven Working Groups to develop a research network.

Structure WG1 Impacts and risks on human health and environment related to Nano- and Microplastic Know More WG2 Leaders Lead Dr  Gabriela Kalčikova WG1 co-leader gabriela.kalcikova@fkkt.uni-lj.si University of Ljubljana Know More Dr  Mónica Amorim WG1 leader mjamorim@ua.pt University of Aveiro Know More
Structure WG2 Know More WG2 Leaders Lead Dr  Liam Morrison WG2 leader liam.morrison@nuigalway.ie National University of Ireland Galway Know More Dr  Zahida Ademovic WG2 co-leader zahida.ademovic@untz.ba University of Tuzla Know More
Structure WG3 Know More WG3 Leaders Lead Prof  Wolfgang Fritzsche WG3 leader Wolfgang.Fritzsche@ipht-jena.de Liebniz Institute of Photonic Technology Know More
Structure WG4 Know More WG4 Leaders Lead Dr  Denise Mitrano WG4 leader, WG6 co-leader Denise.mitrano@usys.ethz.ch ETH Zurich Know More Dr  Nanna Bloch Hartmann Science Communication Coordinator WG4 co-leader, WG7 co-leader nibh@env.dtu.dk Technical University of Denmark (DTU) Know More
Structure WG5 Know More WG5 Leaders Lead Mr  Jean-Marie Raquez WG5 co-leader jean-marie.raquez@umons.ac.be University of Mons Know More Dr  Mariacristina Cocca WG5 leader mariacristina.cocca@cnr.it Institute for Polymers, Composites and Biomaterials CNR Know More
Structure WG6 Know More WG6 Leaders Lead Dr  Denise Mitrano WG4 leader, WG6 co-leader Denise.mitrano@usys.ethz.ch ETH Zurich Know More Prof  Joydeep Dutta WG6 co-leader joydeep@kth.se KTH Royal Institute of Technology Know More Dr  Thomas Meisel WG6 leader thomas.meisel@unileoben.ac.at Montanuniversität Leoben Know More
Structure WG7 Know More WG7 Leaders Lead Dr  Milica Velimirovic Fanfani WG7 leader milica.velimirovic@vito.be Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO) Know More Dr  Nanna Bloch Hartmann Science Communication Coordinator WG4 co-leader, WG7 co-leader nibh@env.dtu.dk Technical University of Denmark (DTU) Know More

Join Us

Are you Interested
in Taking Part?

The COST Action PRIORITY welcomes research-active scientists working in the field. There are many ways to get involved.

News

Latest Updates

TRAINING SCHOOL – Micro and nanoplastic pollution: detection and mitigation, present and future challenges will be held in Naples (NA), Italy, from 28th to 30th September at the Partenope Congress Centre.
The overarching goal of this conference is on increased interaction between students (Ph D candidates, early stage Postdocs) and field-leading experts.
Save the date for the Microplastics Early Career Workshop in Athens, Greece, June 14-17, sponsored by COST Action PRIORITY. More information to follow soon!
COST Action PRIORITY has been launched! PIORITY is a transdisciplinary research network focused on strategies to tackle the global challenge of micro- and nanoplastics in the environment. Find more information here: www.cost.eu/actions/ca20101 and express your interest to join any of the working groups